Journal #4


Coming from an international background (influences from Hong Kong, Singapore, the Netherlands, and the US), the intersection of cultures and calendars have always fascinated me. A couple of things that have always fascinated me are time zones, the influence of crops/harvest seasons, and the way that some dates are really important in some cultures but are simply regular days in others.

The 72 seasons fascinates me because it emphasizes the importance of gratitude for small changes and is almost a more true reflection of the seasons than having four broad categories. What I love about the 72 season chart is how observational the descriptions are for each microseason. I love how it feels like reading a diary and how objective but personal it feels. I think the reason the microseasons feels more personal is because the chart doesn’t report the same thing changing every season. For one season the chart reports peonies blooming but the next season is about frogs croaking. I love the seemingly random nature of the observations and how it reads like a biologist’s guide book.

I read an interesting article on the way the 72 seasons can help us change our perspective on productivity. I wonder if I could make this into a goal setting website - you set a goal every time the seasons change/take a moment to reflect every time the seasons change.

I wonder how seasons can be made more personal? How can we use the model of 72 seasons to rethink our relationship with time?

Back