Journal #1

The Internet's Back to the Land movement
I found a couple parts of this article particularly interesting. The first is the pattern of WELL and the World Wide Web starting off as a community driven decentralized media landscape then slowly becoming a space twisted for profit and taken over by large corporations. I think that we see this pattern in the rise of crypto and NFTs. Starting off as a space that is decentralized, I wonder whether its future is destined to follow that of the World Wide Web. I found this article's discussion about utopia and the limits of our growth to be fascinating. In many ways, growth has always been at the forefront of every aspect of our lives. We are told from a young age to grow our minds, grow our interests, grow our relationships. This article made me think a lot about our obsession with growth. Is it a healthy obsession? Is growth a part of human nature? A part of me wants to believe that our potential to grow and the amount of growth a person can undergo is limitless. Yet time presents itself as a limit to even the most fundamental versions of growth. This made me wonder whether we will ever be able to perceive a “realistic” utopia if we have never seen unlimited growth. I wonder if we should focus our attention on finding the beauty in limits rather than chasing a limitless utopia.

On How to Grow an Idea
From a young age I have always been action oriented. When I fought with my sister we would make a terms agreement in markers of all the things we shouldn’t fight about. When my friend cried on the playground I would always ask how can I fix this? As I grew older, the lines between my actions and results became blurred. I began to think that if I could control the outcomes and results by my actions.
This article made me think a lot about the weight of my non-actions and the power of doing nothing. I feel like I often get caught up in making every minute of my life productive. This is a byproduct of me wanting to control my actions and the results. I realized when I am in this mentality of all action and not giving myself time to breathe and take a step back, I am at my least creative. It’s funny how sometimes the most creative actions (doing nothing, letting your mind wander) are considered “unproductive” uses of time in our modern world. By cutting and slicing these quiet times in our schedule, we put ourselves in a dangerous spot of letting creativity slip out of our hands.
I love the discussion of ideas as not products but intersections between ourselves and something else. I’ve always thought of ideas as taking two seemingly unrelated topics and finding a connection between them through your unique perspective. You act as the unique link between topics that form ideas. I am excited to see how this class shapes my perspective of ideas.

Learning trail:
I find the idea of an information trail to be incredibly fascinating in thinking of the way we interact with information. At every hiking trail no person has taken the exact combination of steps. Perhaps your walking pattern is unique, your choice of shoes that day. The trail you walk, despite it being walked before, is uniquely you. I wonder how we can implement this learning trail within education infrastructures. I imagine tracking or journaling one’s learning hike from a young age would be incredibly intricate and beautiful.

On Building Knowledge Networks
I’ve always thought I was a little scatterbrained. I’d sit in the car and tell my dad about how an emotion based eyeshadow palette would be cool or how something I was learning in philosophy would be a cool way to think about an economics problem. As I’ve begun looking for jobs, I tell recruiters that I want to take two ideas and find synergy between them. I’ve never been able to explain it well but reading this article I feel like I understand my knowledge patterns better. The idea of conceptual isolation as the death of meaning particularly resonated with me. I think that we need to create spaces for the mixing of seemingly unrelated ideas and cultivate less fear in crossing the boundaries between subjects. We should want to live among the links and not within the nodes.

Are.na:
This year I started a community called Learn20 focused on growing as a life long learner. The idea was sparked after talking to Diana Tsai about a learning journal. In a 500+ page document, she does little learning sprints where she learns about a range of topics that fascinate her and documents it.
Sites like are.na and projects like a learning journal are things that change the cycle of creativity. Instead of relying on the randomness of learning and idea connections, being able to have a trail to trace back is something that I hope to incorporate more into my life. A question I have about are.na is whether people have found themselves creating more after. I wonder if there exists any dangers of tracing and organizing the random things that fascinate you.


Back